Saturday, October 3, 2009

So Many Games... I Love/Hate It!!

PENS VS. ISLANDERS (Oct. 3, 2009 @)

--->Games starts off at a good pace... Crosby flying past Roloson with a breakway that's going to take the Pens to 1-0 and it's 11:10 in the 1st.

---> 5 on 3 PP for the Islanders... and of course they'd score >.< 1-1 thanks to Streit

---> Tavares gets his first NHL goal with a 'it'd-be-nice-if-it-wasn't-on-Fleury' backhand... 2-1 Islanders... BOO

Steelcitysports (via Twitter) described this minute of my life pretty accurately:
EATON WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
17 seconds later...
SONOFABITCH!!!!! UGHHHHHH


... CROSBY @ 400 POINTS!!!!!!!!!!! =D


---> Now it's 3-2 thanks to Hunter...

---> And that'll be 3-3 thank you very much, Mr. Fedo!

OT HERE WE COME!
... OT... there we go.

---> Shoot out!!!
1. Tanger... SCORE (according to the drinking game... that's like 5 shots right there)
2. CROSBY... SCOOOOOOOOOORE!!

No need for anyone else... PENS WIN!!!! YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY


LEAFS VS. CAPS (Oct. 3, 2009 @ Washington)

This game goes something like this...

God I hate Ovechkin... I hope that the Leafs can keep him in check tonight...
---> Ovie scores... less than a minute in.... le-defeat!

I'm so torn! First off... LOL @ DAD (looks like your leafs are back to their normal level of competition... SHIT). Second... I can't even write about this because I don't want to puke on the keyboard...

6-4 Washington, or something... I don't even care anymore... GOD-DAMN BATMAN!



And as far as Montreal vs. Buffalo (@ Buffalo) go... the game goes into OT @ 1-1... and I'm 99.7% sure that the Habs scored using a player, and not the puck.
'In Soviet Russia, puck shoot you...'sorry, you're French... doesn't work like that.

Habs score to win in OT... this time they use a puck; this time I still don't care... Holy boring OT, Batman.
---> Once again I'm forced to remember that the only good thing to ever come out of Quebec was George St. Pierre...


I turn on the Calgary game and there are men in kilts and a woman spinning in the air with a fiddle... I think I need sleep...


And let me end this by saying... Detroit lost again. 5-3 to St. Louis... LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL


Question of the night... Sid just reached 400 points... will this be his break-away year?

Finnish Rematch

PANTHERS VS. HAWKS (Oct. 3, 2009 @ Helsinki, Finland)

Alright, I understand that the Panthers are lovin their Finnish stars... and that explains why the Finnish people are lovin the Panthers... but what it doesn't explain is why so many people are proudly sporting the 88. I'm quiet impressed in their taste =)

---> Getting off to an early start Soupness gets a slap-shot off and sets the Hawks up with a 1-0 lead, Kaner and Buff getting the assist for that one.

@ the rate this is going, P. Kane might as well set up a little tent in front of the Panther's net... the D can't move him.
It's almost like watching some guys from Junior B playing against an Olympic team... I play NHL10 better than the Panthers are playing hockey right now; they're all over the place and not accomplishing anything.
Niemi's in nets... did I mention that yet? >.>

**Sign in the audience -- a blond girl's holding one that says "I came over 4400 miles to see Patrick Kane" ---> She has my utmost respect right now... these European girls are kind of awesome.**

Did they change the advertisements on the rink into English? Or are they always like that... I would have guessed they would be... oh... I don't know... Finnish?

---> Bolland takes a great shot at net on the change-up, no luck though... 6 minutes left in the first. On a side not... Ben Eager is one fast SOB... just pointing it out =P

---> Panthers are finally picking it up; she's a back and forth game now, Hawks are still dominating imo though.

Weiss and Bolland decided to have a little lie down in the corner... thought something might start but, they're both laughing... onto the first intermission!


Might I be so blunt to say that the Finnish are a little afraid of the big cam? They just stare straight ahead and try to pretend that they aren't being shown on the jumbo-tron... it's mildly hilarious.

---> Campbell, Campbell, Campbell; he's out of the locker-room like a firecracker... he had 3 or 4 good shots on net in the first few seconds of the second period - Hawks need to take some more shots and it looks like Soupness is ready to be that man.

---> KANE SCORES!! Keith to Sharpy to Kaner... his second goal of the season... mmm love to see that smile on his face! And thanks to Chicago's Golden Boy, the Hawk's will take a 2-0 lead over the Panthers, a little over 14 minutes left in the second.

---> Chicago on the PP, Panthers pulling a penalty for elbowing... Kaner gets a great shot off but it hits the edge of the net.

---> The Blackhawks now have a 3-0 lead thanks to a certain Mr. Sharpy. Good pass Versteeg... looks like the bromance is picking up the assists tonight =D

** UGH! Patrick Kane is playing a great game and OF COURSE the announcers go back to the Cab Driver thing... MOVE ON WTF!! ---> Sorry, pet peeve lol.

---> 17 minutes left in the third and we're getting a PP... Seabrook has a HUGE hit and Buff gets his second goal of the season 4-0 Hawks!! (Bolland and Seabrook with the assist)

---> Niemi is getting it done tonight... if he keeps this up, he's got my voice for first line.

---> "Kane flaying around all over the ice" says the announcer... just as Kane gets ANOTHER shot on net.

I always wondered why Florida never had one of the best teams in the league; if I was coaching we'd win everything. Game-winning strategy? - I'd bribe them with Disney World... 'you get a goal... you get a turkey leg AND a ride on the Tower of Terror!'

**AHAHAHA shows a kid in the stand... sniffing a hockey puck; judging by the look on his face, it didn't smell good...**

---> And that's a Blackhawk penalty for 'Delay of game'... Madden heads to the box.
---> Panthers get a good shot, but no goal for them. Score stands at 4-0 with 4 minutes left.

Not sure why I'm thinking such random things today but... would hockey suck if it wasn't played on ice? Think of how slow the game would be...

---> 30 seconds left in the game... I'm gonna use my intuition and call this for the Hawks.

---> Must be a fortune-teller... Final Score, 4-0 HAWKS!

I'm very happy that Niemi got a shut-out... he played an amazing game! If anyone deserves first star it's him. My picks would probably go:
1- Niemi
2- Kane
3- Campbell


Question of the day... on a scale of 1 - 10; how much do you miss Adam Burish??

Starting it Off...

So basically; a place for me to rant and rave about the NHL teams/events that I care about... this is what happens when the people you know irl don't watch hockey...


HAWKS VS. PANTHERS (Oct. 2, 2009 match up in Helsinki, Finland):

First of all, let me start off by saying... the Panthers have more fans in Finland than they do in Florida, no joke.

So, it's a pretty fast moving game of hockey for the most part; the boys are doing a good job of keeping it moving, and during the first period of play, the game is fairly even.

---> First noticeable incident of the game is a bluntly obvious cross-check from McCabe; and he'll take 2 for that, giving the Hawks a PP.

---> Kane, answers back and takes a 2 minute penalty for high-sticking... you can literally hear the sigh of Jonathan Toews, poor Kaner.

---> Luckily for everyone involved, Kane scores an AMAZING goal once he's out of the box... beautifully played; past the D and then buries it in the top shelf. 1-0 Hawks.

---> Frolik will answer back for the Panthers; nothing fancy - just sneaks it by thanks to too many bodies infront of the net... he's kind of hot though... just sayin...

---> Buff makes it 2-1 Hawks with a little help from his friends (Kane and Seabrook... fyi)

---> Then, one of the most awkward moments of the night (or day... however you wanna look at it...) Hawks start off on a PP and then Kaner takes a penalty for too-many-men... /sigh.

---> Kostinen scores and evens it up (score wise anyway)... 2-2 all around.

I honestly felt bad this whole time, the Hawks outplayed the Panthers by far and, judging by puck control; it's easier to see who the better team is...

---> Sharpy scores and takes the Hawks into the lead, but it won't last long - Panthers will answer back, and it's 3-3 going into OT.

OT, blah. Hawks control the puck, get lots of shots off but just can't make it work... here we go shoot off.
Now, I actually prayed for Toews, Kane, Sharpy... and I got it; apparently I just forgot to pray that they wouldn't screw it up.

1. Toews was awesome, he had a beautiful stick control and a perfectly executed feint... he'll be the only one that scores for the Hawks.

2. Kaner stuffs himself... hilarious! Now don't get me wrong, Kane is the love of my life but... still funny... you should go check it out if you didn't see.

3. Sharpy - nice shot, no cigar.

Panthers score on the first two so... it's game over.

Rematch today... hopefully we can redeem ourselves.




PENS VS. RANGERS (Oct. 2, 2009 - @ the Igloo)

I don't want to blab too much about this one... just because I didn't watch the game (I love my Pens but... Zombieland... come on!)

Basically... we win, Marc Staal looses... or something like that...

The final score was 3-2 for the Pens.

MAF played an amazing game, making alot of memorable saves; nothing like a Fleury in September, am I right?

Goals for the Rangers went to...
Drury (16:01 - 1st: Higgins with the assist) and
Gaborik (05:56 - 3rd: Dubinsky and Staal given the assist)...

Goals for the Pens went to...
Geno (07:48 - 1st: Gonch and Gogo with the assist),
Crosby (12:25 - 2nd: Tanger and Big Bad Billy with the assist) and
TK (13:33 - 2nd: Gogo and Staal with the tip)


Eventually leading to:

The Three Star Selections as
1st: SIDNEY CROSBY
2nd: TYLER KENNEDY
3rd: ALEX GOLIGOSKI

Questions of the day... Gogo: was last night a taste of what's to come... or a random stroke of luck??